Listen Linda, listen!

Sometimes I wonder why is it that I need an audience to witness my inner most thoughts and feelings
Truth is I don’t, but I like it
It’s like having virtual companions in the journey
To assure us that we are not alone in this tricky life
Or maybe I enjoy the fact that no matter how customizable our journeys are
They are essentially the same thing
Or maybe I like to be heard
And this is my platform

Now let’s get to the thoughts that are keeping me awake tonight
Life is very vast and quick
I mean days pass by very quickly
Months, years even
And after spending a year learning about Eucharist
It dawned to me
That Eucharist is not only about giving thanks
It is about living in communion with the lord
And sho! (my new African word for wow) does this life distract us
I mean living with the lord is hard mun!
Not because the road is narrow and all that
But because my attention span is what is narrow ;
After a good couple of years living with Christ

I found it was pretty easy to learn the lingo
Maneuver your way through different “gangs”
Master the popular issues
know all different schools, and who belongs where
Excel in this Christian life style

But when communion is forsaken
The real deal evaporates
And nothing else sustains
Not speaking about him, not singing about him, not complaining about it will do
Not watching godly people’s lives
There is only one thing that sustains
And that is learning to maintain the relationship
In the most mundane, boring, slow ways
It is really about shutting up
And listening
It’s all about fighting for space in your soul
Making time
It’s all about not sleeping this one extra hour to read the word
To shut up and listen
Waiting for the God who makes time for us
Waiting for the God who is willing to rescue us even when we decide to give up on him
A God who is too profound and his thoughts aren’t like ours (thank God)
So my prayer tonight
Is to learn to grow in the art of shutting up
And listening to the one whose words are life
“So shall my word be that goes forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”

Amen.
Goodnight

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

